Types of antifreeze


Get Adobe Flash player


There are only 3 main anti-freeze types/coolant types, at most 4 so far less than the types of car engines !

  • Green anti-freeze/green coolant

These are the traditional type of anti-freeze most commonly used in North America. Their silicate and phosphate composition provides protection for aluminium and bare iron surfaces. They need to be changed every 30,000 miles or once every two to three years.

  • OAT anti-freeze/OAT coolant

OAT stands for Organic Acid Technology.OAT anti-freeze contain ingredients such as 2-EHA, sebacate and other various organic acids. Unlike green anti-freeze, they generally do not contain silicates or phosphates. Usually, OAT-based coolants will be dyed a different colour to green anti-freeze. They must be changed once every five years or 150,000 miles.

  • HOAT anti-freeze/HOAT coolant

HOAT stands for Hybrid OAT. These antifreeze use organic acids but not 2-EHA and usually include silicates to provide protection for aluminium surfaces. HOAT anti-freezes are used by many European car manufacturers, although they are also used by American companies such as Chrysler and Ford. A HOAT coolant will need to be changed every five years or 150,000 miles.

In recent years, anti-freeze manufacturers have been creating universal antifreeze that can be used with all vehicle types. These extended-life coolants only differ in colour. Some may be orange while others may be dyed blue or purple.

You noticed that we did not make any distinction between antifreeze and coolant in this section – for more information about the difference between coolant and antifreeze, please visit http://www.elf.com/en/advice-corner/coolant-and-antifreeze-faqs/what-is-coolant.html

By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies, in particular to compile statistics on visits in order to optimise the site's functionality.Change my cookie settings